The City operates under a City Manager–Council form of government.

Residents elect a Mayor and four additional City Councilors which make up the City Council. The Council is responsible for enacting ordinances and resolutions which govern the City. The Mayor presides over the Council meetings.

The City Council appoints a City Manager, City Attorney and a City Clerk who serve as Charter Officers at the will and direction of the City Council.

The City Manager serves as the Chief Executive Officer and is charged with the enforcement of all ordinances and resolutions passed by the City Council.

The Chief of Police, Public Services Director and Finance Director are appointed by the City Manager.